One Thing Leads To Another!

This past Sunday found me at The Freedom Plaza participating in the Annual Race for Hope 5K once again. This was the very race that had helped me overcome my fear of running last year and opened me up to embrace more challenges and take on new ventures.

As excited as it was to participate in the race again, I wasn’t overwhelmed with emotion as I had been the previous year neither had I trained for nor talked about it with anyone who would listen. I guess it was because I saw it as a been -there done- it kind of thing; I had proved to myself that I could complete it last year and therefore knew I could do so once again. It was no longer a challenge but more so a mere formality; something to do to keep me growing in my journey towards becoming a better and more fulfilled me.

I was amazed at how easy the race was given that I hadn’t trained for it at all this time around. Don’t get me wrong, I still don’t enjoy running and would rather perform any other form of exercise. As I ran, it hit me what was really carrying me this time around was my drive, determination and commitment. Although I no longer had anything to prove to myself, I had committed to continuing to step out of my comfort zone and remaining accountable to myself.

I also reflected on the things I had managed to accomplish since then as a result of completing that first race. I realized completing it had not only boosted my confidence on that fateful day last year but had been the catalyst that encouraged me to push myself further and start living fearlessly.

writing-career-goals

And so it is with all goals and dreams we set for ourselves. Never underestimate what you can do and how succeeding in one area can inspire you to take on more challenges and try things you normally wouldn’t. We have to embrace our fears and step out of our comfort zones; that is the only way we will ever truly know what we are capable of and grow as individuals.

All our goals and dreams build on from each other. Most people after accomplishing a goal usually set their sights higher after realizing that they have it in them to achieve whatever they put their mind to. When you accomplish something you once thought impossible, you are more likely to pursue more challenging undertakings and embrace new things fearlessly because you know you can draw from the strength, determination and focus that helped you accomplish that goal or dream to accomplish the new one.

Today, challenge yourself to do something you have been putting off because you don’t think you can do it or have what it takes to flourish in it. Do the thing you are most afraid of that will require you to really get out of your comfort zone and put yourself out there. For things in your life to change, you have to be willing to put in the effort required to make them change. Nothing is impossible!!!

4 thoughts on “One Thing Leads To Another!

  1. Magda May 4, 2015 / 10:42 pm

    Kudos Yvonne. Determination and commitment have proved to you once again that when you challenge yourself enough, you can do it. You are on the right track gal. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

  2. pthinkii May 7, 2015 / 3:40 am

    Congratulations on your feat my dear. I can’t imagine the joy you felt upon approaching the finishing line. You’re encouraging me to keep the determination. On to 10k?

    Like

    • Yvonne Kariba May 7, 2015 / 8:45 am

      Thanks for your kind words, Phyllis. Onto the 10K indeed…June 13th to be more precise!

      Like

Leave a Reply

